Free Downloadable Music Now Available Through Freegal

 Databases, eResources, Technology
Dec 022014
 

marketing~~element54We are very happy to announce that Freegal has been added to our electronic resource offerings. With Freegal, you can stream music, as well as download up to 5 songs a week. The downloaded songs are in the MP3 format, and are not checked out: they are yours to keep! Freegal offers over 7 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of artists. There is no software to download, and downloaded songs are DRM (digital rights management) free. All you need is your Warren Public Library card!

Go to this website to get started using Freegal! For detailed instructions on how to use Freegal, click here.

Electronic Resources for Small Businesses

 Adults, Databases, eResources, Programs, Technology
Nov 092013
 

MeLLogoWednesday, December 4, 6 pm, Civic Center Library

Are you looking into starting a business? Do you need to find information to help your current business? If so, please consider attending the Resources for Small Business from the Michigan eLibrary seminar. The Michigan eLibrary (or MeL for short) offers a variety of electronic resources to help you and your small business. Dinah Ramirez of Gale-Cengage will show you how resources like Small Business Resource Center and Demographics Now, available through MeL and our database page,  can help take your business to the next level.

This program will be held in the conference room next to the Civic Center Library. Registration is required for this program. To register, please call 586.574.4564.

Help Repair Your Car with ALLDATA

 Databases, eResources, Research
Jan 282013
 

Car RepairDo you have car problems, and want to fix it yourself but don’t know where to start? If so, considering using ALLDATA, a comprehensive car repair database now available from the Library.

ALLDATA features in-depth repair information for a variety of vehicles, from 1982 – present. It includes diagrams, diagnostic trouble code charts, technical service bulletins, and maintenance information. ALLDATA makes it is easy to search for and print information to help you in repairing your vehicle.

ALLDATA is available at all Warren Public Library locations and can only be accessed from within the library. You can access ALLDATA by clicking here. It is also available through our database listings.

Introduction to Genealogy

 Adults, Databases, Miller Branch, Programs, Research
Jan 232013
 

Old Family PhotosAre you interested in finding out more about your family’s history? If so, consider attending our Introduction to Genealogy class at the Arthur Miller Branch on Monday, February 4 at 7:00 p.m. Librarian Cyndi Knecht will teach you how you can start  tracing your family tree with tools available through the library. Topics will include:

• The basics of searching
• Using databases from the library like HeritageQuest and Ancestry Library Edition, as well as free web sites
• Researching census, vital and military records
• Using computer software to organize your information.

Please note that while this is a basic beginners class,  more advanced searchers are welcome!

Registration is required for this program. Please call 586-751-5377 to register.

Historical Detroit Free Press Now Available

 Databases, eResources, Research
Nov 162012
 

Are you curious about Michigan’s involvement during the Civil War? How about the rise of the automobile industry in Detroit? Or, perhaps you might want to know more about the early history of the Detroit Tigers?

Now, with the Warren Public Library’s addition of the Historical Detroit Free Press database, you can go back through time and read the news of the day as it was actually published.  Historical Detroit Free Press features digitized editions of every issue of the Detroit Free Press from 1831 – 1922. It is easily searchable by a variety of article types including front page, classified ad, editorial cartoon, and more. Also, because the paper is digitized, you can see each article as it was printed. The Historical Detroit Free Press includes all text that was published, including obituaries and advertisements!

To access Historical Detroit Free Press, click here, or access our databases through the Research tab above. You will need a Warren Public Library card use this database.

 Older Entries  Newer Entries