Tutor.com is Now Available!

 Databases, eResources, Technology
Aug 232017
 

Just in time for back to school, we are happy to announce that the Warren Public Library now offers Tutor.com, a new program that offers students of all ages live, one-to-one help from professional tutors online.   Any community member with a library card can use Tutor.com’s Learning Suite from any computer or mobile device connected to the Internet by visiting their library’s website and clicking on Tutor.com.

The Tutor.com Learning Suite, a service of The Princeton Review, combines on-demand, real-time tutoring with several self-study tools to create a robust, personalized learning or job search experience. The live, online tutoring and job search support is available 7 days a week from 4 pm to 11 pm. Many other features such as The Princeton Review’s SAT/ACT Essentials Test Prep is available 24/7.

You can access Tutor.com here or from our database page.

Digital Magazines, Music, and More

 Busch Branch, Databases, eResources, Programs, Technology
Jul 222017
 

Wednesday, July 26, 6:30 pm, Dorothy Busch Branch

eReadersBooks, CDs, DVDs: you know you can check these out with your library card. But did you also know that with your library card you can stream and download music? Access full-color electronic magazines such as Cosmopolitan, Forbes,  National Geographic and Newsweek, as well as magazines that are only published digitally, such as PC Magazine, PC World, and Macworld? Learn a foreign language?

Attend Digital Magazines, Music, and More to find out how all the ways your library card can work for you!

Space is limited. Register here or call 586.353.0580.

Pronunciator – New Language Learning Database

 Adults, Children, Databases, eResources
Nov 162015
 

pronunciator-resizable-180x135

Meet Pronunciator, Warren Public Library’s new online language-learning database. Pronunciator offers instruction for 80 languages that can be taken from any of  50 starting languages! This means that a French speaker can learn Korean, a Hindi speaker can learn Ukrainian, a Haitian Creole speaker can learn Afrikaans (among countless other possibilities). ESL courses are included for the 50 non-English languages.

Pronunciator quickly builds conversational skills through interactive online drills, scored quizzes, culture and business notes, and grammar reviews. Each language course has a minimum of 1,500 phrases to learn, and most have 10,000 phrases. Learners can move through the courses based on their skill level and learning goals. Lessons include:

  • Scored quizzes
  • Virtual coach
  • Speech recognition
  • Downloadable audio lessons
  • Virtual conversations
  • Downloadable phrasebooks in PDF form

Pronunciator includes lessons for children ages three to six and seven through 12, as well as eight week travel prep courses, which are specially designed to prepare you for your next trip.

If you’re on the go, Pronunciator’s free mobile app for iPhone, iPad, Android, and tablets allows you to take your lessons wherever you go. Your progress is automatically synced between devices, so you can go from your computer to your phone or tablet without missing a beat! Apps can be found in your devices app store.

Click here to try Pronunciator today!

 Posted by on November 16, 2015

What’s New with Heritage Quest

 Adults, Civic Center Library, Databases, eResources, Programs, Research
Sep 232015
 

Thursday, October 8, 6 pm, Civic Center Library HeritageQuest

Celebrate Family History Month by learning to explore your roots using the new and improved Heritage Quest website now owned by Ancestry.com.  Available for use in the library or home through the Michigan eLibrary (mel.org), search the complete U.S. Federal census (1790-1940) and send your discoveries home via email. Also covered will be tips and tricks for beginners, the Ancestry Library Edition database, and valuable free websites that will jump start your search into your family’s past.

This program will be held in the conference room next to the Civic Center Library. Registration is required for this event. Please call 586.574.4564 to register.

Database Changes

 Databases
Sep 252015
 

MeLLogoDatabases that the Warren Public Library receives through the Michigan eLibrary (MeL) will be soon be changing.

On October 1, the following databases will not be available and will be removed from our database listings:

  • Books and Authors
  • Lansing State Journal
  • SIRS Discoverer and SIRS Renaissance
  • eLibrary and eLibrary Elementary
  • Job and Career Accelerator
  • 2 centers from Learning Express Library: Computer Skills Center  Skills for 21st Century Success

Also starting October 1, the following databases will be added:

  • Research in Context
  • Military and Intelligence
  • Britannica School, Britannica School – Learning Zone, Britannica School – Elementary, Britannica School – Middle, Britannica School – High

Feel free to leave a comment if you have any questions about any of the databases that we offer.

 Older Entries  Newer Entries